Tsog Days

Twice a month, based on the lunar calendar, Tse Chen Ling offers one of the central practices of our tradition, Lama Chopa Tsog. Tsog means “gathering,” and Lama Chopa means “offering to the Spiritual Guide.” It is a profound practice of purification of negative karma and accumulation of positive energy, or merit. During the puja/offering, extensive prayers are recited in order to affirm our commitment to the spiritual path and to seek inspiration from our teachers. All are invited to participate. Feel free to bring offerings of flowers, food, or anything else you would like to offer. Check with our spiritual coordinator for details or explanations.

Tsog Dates 2017

January 7 Saturday Tibetan date: 10th
January 22 Sunday Tibetan date: 25th
February 6 Monday Tibetan date: 10th
February 21 Tuesday Tibetan date: 25th
February 27 Monday Tibetan New Year 2144 – Year of the Fire Bird
March 7 Tuesday Tibetan date: 10th
March 22 Wednesday Tibetan date: 25th
April 6 Thursday Tibetan date: 10th
April 21 Friday Tibetan date: 25th
May 5 Friday Tibetan date: 10th
May 21 Sunday Tibetan date: 25th
June 4 Sunday Tibetan date: 10th
June 9 Friday Sakadawa
June 19 Monday Tibetan date: 25th
July 3 Monday Tibetan date: 10th
July 19 Wednesday Tibetan date: 25th
July 27 Thursday Chokhur Duchen (1st turning of the Wheel of Dharma)
August 2 Wednesday Tibetan date: 10th
August 17 Thursday Tibetan date: 25th
August 31 Thursday Tibetan date: 10th
September 15 Friday Tibetan date: 25th
September 30 Saturday Tibetan date: 10th
October 14 Saturday Tibetan date: 25th
October 30 Monday Tibetan date:  10th
November 10 Friday Lhabab Duchen (Descent from the Heaven of 33)
November 13 Monday Tibetan date: 25th
November 28 Tuesday Tibetan date: 10th
December 12 Tuesday Tibetan date: 25th
December 28 Thursday Tibetan date: 10th & Lama Tsongkhapa Day

Sponsor a Puja for a Loved One or for Yourself

Pujas are traditional group rituals performed for the sick, on behalf of those who have died or to dispel obstacles in times of difficulty. The pujas regularly offered at Tse Chen Ling include Medicine Buddha puja, The Four Mandala Offerings to Cittamani Tara, the Sixteen Arhats puja, and Lama Choepa (Guru puja)/Tsog. To request a puja to be performed and dedicated to a specific person or purpose, please send all relevant information to our office (i.e. name, time and date of death if relevant, and so on) and include your contact information. You may write to our office, use the contact page of this website, or send email. We’ll work out a good date and get back to you with all you should know. Please call us if you don’t hear from us soon. A donation is not mandatory, but considered good karma to make an offering for pujas.

The Prayer List is maintained by Tse Chen Ling to offer prayers for those who are suffering or facing death, and also to remember those who have recently died in order to help with their transition to the next life. According to the advice from Geshe Dakpa, in order to create a karmic connection, it is good for those requesting to make an offering (however small) when adding someone to the list. Rituals and practices done at the Center are then dedicated to these individuals. Names of living individuals for whom prayers have been requested remain on the prayer list for a period of 30 days unless updated. For individuals who have recently died, please provide the date of death. Prayers are dedicated for their higher rebirth for 49 days after date of death. Please contact TCL with all pertinent information, including a contact number.